TOYOTA GAZOO Racing South Africa (TGRSA) is primed for the second round of the 2024 South African Rally-Raid Championship (SARRC), the PS Laser ProMac Vryheid 400, scheduled for 24-25 May in the Vryheid region of northern KwaZulu-Natal. This inaugural event offers competitors a fresh opportunity to earn critical championship points and the honor of becoming the first victors of this new rally-raid challenge.

Following a spectacular performance at the Nkomazi 400 in Malalane last month, where TGRSA secured an impressive one-two finish, the team is eager to maintain their strong start to the season. Giniel de Villiers and co-driver Elvéne Vonk clinched the victory in Round 1, with teammates Guy Botterill and Dennis Murphy following closely in second place. For the Vryheid 400, TGRSA will again field their seasoned crews: Henk Lategan and Brett Cummings, Giniel de Villiers and Elvéne Vonk, Guy Botterill and Dennis Murphy, and Saood Variawa and Francois Cazalet, all piloting the latest GR Hilux EVO.

The Vryheid 400 promises to deliver a thrilling challenge with its diverse and demanding terrain, which includes farmlands, rocky sections, and stunning landscapes. This race marks the first time the Vryheid area will host a round of the SARRC, introducing new and exciting terrain for the competitors.

The event begins with a 14km Castrol Qualifying Race on Friday, 24 May, at 09:30 AM, followed by Stage One, a 38km loop starting at 1 PM. On Saturday, 25 May, competitors will tackle Stage Two, a 175km route, starting at 8 AM. After completing the stage once, there will be a mandatory 30-minute service break at the Designated Service Point (DSP) at the airfield before the competitors repeat the stage. The race concludes at the Vryheid Airfield, where the podium ceremonies will also take place.

Reflecting on the upcoming race, TGRSA Team Principal Shameer Variawa remarked, “We are looking forward to the Vryheid 400 and are excited to tackle the new terrain. Our crews have been preparing diligently, and we are confident in their abilities to deliver strong performances. The opening round was a great success, and we aim to build on that momentum this weekend.”

Giniel de Villiers currently leads the Overall Championship standings, with Guy Botterill in second. Henk Lategan and Brett Cummings are determined to secure a substantial haul of points to kickstart their title chase after a challenging first round.


Overall Championship Standings after Round 1:

PositionDriverPoints1Giniel de Villiers302Guy Botterill233Jayden Els184Johan Horn155Fouché Blignaut126Chris Visser107Saood Variawa98Daniel Schröder89Johan de Bruyn710Gerhard Heinlein6